Thrift Cities: New York City, NY (Midtown)

There are almost no words for how much I enjoyed my short time in New York City, except that it was just wonderfully lovely and inviting. It was like no other city I’ve ever been in, on a scale so massive it was impossible not to keep looking up. There was something warm and safe about the canyon-like streets that I didn’t expect to find. The crowds, though massive at this time of year, were comforting too. There was never a moment of loneliness and yet it wasn’t overwhelming. It’s not hard at all to comprehend why people feel such allegiance to this city.

We stayed in Midtown, between Times Square and Hell’s Kitchen. We saw an excellent play with Michael Cera, Kieran Culkin (my personal crush), and former fashion blogger Tavi Gevinson. We even went to the top of the Empire State Building even though the line was ludicrous. Though I didn’t get as much time for thrifting as I would’ve liked, I did enjoy visiting the Housing Works in Hell’s Kitchen and found some really good quality stuff for reasonable prices. I also made the pilgrimage to American Apparel (and I won that contest that I was trying to win before the holidays – they’re sending me $1500 worth of free clothes!!!) and Gudrun Sjoden in SoHo. There was also just great street fashion in general all around the city. Not a huge surprise, of course, because it is kind of a fashion Mecca, but it was still great fun just to watch everyone else’s outfits.

Here’s what I found. Tell me what you think!

This skirt, $5 at Housing Works, was originally from H&M. Paired with a crop top (American Apparel, $22) and my mom's Borne sandals it's got kind of a nice nineties vibe.

This skirt, $5 at Housing Works, was originally from H&M. Paired with a crop top (American Apparel, $22) and my mom’s Borne sandals it’s got kind of a nice nineties vibe.

I added a bouclé coat to add a little visual interest to all the solid colors (Forever 21, $40).

I added a bouclé coat to add a little visual interest to all the solid colors (Forever 21, $40).

This dress was $15, and everyone knows I love the swing skirt cut.

This dress was $15, and everyone knows I love the swing skirt cut.

A closer look at the pattern and colors.

A closer look at the pattern and colors.

This scarf was $8, and I bought it on impulse only to later realize that the colors matched perfectly with the dress.

This scarf was $8, and I bought it on impulse only to later realize that the colors matched perfectly with the dress.

Black leather, naturally, makes everything better (Forever 21, $30).

Black leather, naturally, makes everything better (Forever 21, $30).

I love this city. I’ll be back.

Does anyone out there love New York as I much as I do?

Leave a Reply

