Thred Up

In the last few weeks I’ve stumbled across a website called ThredUp, which is basically online thrift. They send you a “clean-out bag” which you then fill with your unwanted, gently used clothes and send back to them, all for free. They then pay you for what they think they can sell. I sent in a bag half-full and got a $40 payout, which is pretty good considering none of my items were anywhere near designer.

On the shopping end, the prices are somewhere between true thrift (Goodwill) and your more specialty consignment shops. And you still get that thrifting thrill of sorting through loads of things you don’t like until you find something unexpectedly awesome. The only possible drawback is that shopping online makes me, at least, less likely to take risks in the same way I would for a $4 item at the Salvation Army, which means you don’t always go for that wonderfully unusual piece that you’re not sure about at first but ends up being a staple in your wardrobe. That being said, though, everything I’ve ordered so far from ThredUp has been perfectly lovely and I am very satisfied.

Some highlights:

This skirt was $10 on ThredUp, and originally from Topshop, so definitely a good deal. I paired it with some thrifted heels and a $6 shirt from eBay.

This skirt was $10 on ThredUp, and originally from Topshop, so definitely a good deal. I paired it with some thrifted heels and a $6 shirt from eBay.

This jacket was $15, and was heavier than it looked on the website. Still, it came just in time for some snow days so all turned out well in the end. And I get to try out the female equivalent of a Canadian tuxedo (denim on denim).

This jacket was $15, and was heavier than it looked on the website. Still, it came just in time for some snow days so all turned out well in the end. And I get to try out the female equivalent of a Canadian tuxedo (denim on denim).

This shirt was $5, and originally from Forever 21. Very springy and vaguely vintage, I paired it with an Urban Outfitters skirt ($10 on sale) and American Apparel shoes.

This shirt was $5, and originally from Forever 21. Very springy and vaguely vintage, I paired it with an Urban Outfitters skirt ($10 on sale) and American Apparel shoes.

I am totally in love with this dress! It's navy with a daisy pattern, though I initially thought the background was black on the website. Still, it fits really well.

I am totally in love with this dress! It’s navy with a daisy pattern, though I initially thought the background was black on the website. Still, it fits really well.

This coat was $22, and like the jean jacket was a little heavier than I expected. It's very cozy and soft though, and I like the fleece collar. I paired it with a $10 dress from ASOS.

This coat was $22, and like the jean jacket was a little heavier than I expected. It’s very cozy and soft though, and I like the fleece collar. I paired it with a $10 dress from ASOS.

Overall, I’m very happy with my purchases and highly recommend the website if you enjoy shopping in your pajamas at two in the morning.

2 comments

  1. vintagevictori · March 26, 2015

    What an awesome idea and such cute clothes you scored! Thanks for sharing!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

